Saturday, December 18, 2010

History of Indian Flag - (1904 - 1947)


Indian Flag

Indian flag means tiranga has many interesting attributes creating it unique. Indian flag represents India's long freedom struggle. It shows the status of India and Independent republic. India's constituent assembly adopted the design of the National Flag on 22nd July, 1947. The code regulates display and use of the Idian flag. The late Prime Minister Pandit Nehru called it as a symbol of feedom not only for ourselves but for all people.
Indian flag
History of Indian Flag
Indian flag history started from the 20th century to pre-independence period. Irish disciple of Swami Vivekananda made the first national flag in 1904. Her name was sister Nivedita and then after the flag came to be known as sister Nivedita's flag. This flag was designed using colors yellow and red. Yellow color signified symbol of success and red color shows freedom struggle. Bengali word "Bonde Matoram" was written on it. The flag contained figure of 'Vajra', weapon for god 'Indra' and a white lotus in the center. The Vajra signified strength and lotus shows depicts purity.
In 1906, another Indian flag was designed after Sister Nivedita's flag. It was designed using three colors: blue, yellow and red. This flag blue strip had 8 stars of slightly various shapes, red strip had 2 symbols. The first one symbol was the sun and second symbol was the star. The yellow strip color had 'Vande Mataram' written on Devnagiri script.
Again in 1906 only another version of this flag came into existence that contained orange, yellow and green colors. This flag was known as 'Lotus flag' or Calcutta flag'. This flag signified the Indian unity and capacity of freedom struggle.
In 22 August 1907, Shyamji Krishna Varma, Madam Bhikaji Cama and Veer Savarkar had designed a new flag. This flag was called as Madam Bhikaji Cama flag. This flag was similar to flag in 1906 with the exemption colors and the flower closest to hoist. In 1907, the flag was hosted in foreign country Germany first time. Thus this flag was also referred as Berlin Committee flag. This flag was made up of three colors green followed by golden saffron and the red color at the bottom. It had "Vande Mataram" written on it.
Indian flagIn 1916, the new flag was designed by Lokamanya Tilak and Dr. Annie Besant's. Congress session hosted this flag in Calcutta. Colors used for this flag are white, green, blue and red. Each color was used in striped manner. The five red and four green strips represents Singh and Nair, the white strip color signified seven stars of Saptarishi.
In 1917, the new flag was adopted by Bal Ganga Dhar Tilak. Bal Ganga Dhar Tilak was the leader of the Home Rule League. This flag had union jack at top, near hoist. At that time the status of Dominion was being demanded for India. This flag signified seven stars of "Saptashi". This flag contains four blue and five red strips. It had a semi-circular moon and a star on the top fly end. This flag did not become popular in masses.
In 1921, Mahatma Gandhi designed the new flag containing three colors: white, green and red. White color on the top of this flag signified truth. In the middle of this flag green color shows the earth and Indian agriculture. Red color on the bottom of this flag signified spirit and freedom struggle. This flag pattern was based on the flag of Ireland.
In 1931, Pingali Venkayya was designed a new flag. It also has three colors white, green and saffron. Saffron color was at the top of this flag, white in the middle and the green at the bottom. The saffron color signified the strength. The white color shows truth and the green color signified the earth and the Indian agriculture. In the center of this flag there was 'Charkha' in blue color.
In 1947, the flag with three colors was accepted by Indian and the whole country. A National flag of India was adopted by the three colors in 1947. While a result, the flag in 1931 was adopted as Indian flag but 'Charkha' in the center was replaced by 'Wheel' (Chakra). In this way our National flag came into being.
Description of Indian Flag (Tiranga)
Indian flagIn 22nd July 1947, the National flag of India was adopted by Indian constituent assembly. Its use of the flag is regulated by a certain regulations. Pingali Venkayya designed the National flag of India. The flag signified struggle for freedom for every people.
The National flag of India is designed with horizontal strips of three colors (Tiranga) of deep kesari (saffron) at the top, white in the center and dark green on the bottom in equal proportions. The saffron color shows sacrifice, courage and strength, the white color signified truth and purity; the green color shows fertility and faith. On white band at the center, there is Chakra in navy blue to show the Dharma Chakra, the charka of law in the Sarnath lion capital. The charka is known as 'Ashoka Chakra. It has 24 spokes. It shows that there is life in movement and death in stagnation. The center symbol the Chakra (wheel) was a Buddhist symbol in back to 200th century B.C.
Manufacturing of Indian flag
Indian flag manufacturing is put up by committee. This committee is called as 'Bureau of Indian Standards'. It also lays our rules regarding flag hosting. It specifies the color, cloth, dye, thread count and everything on the flag. The Indian flag (tiranga) can only be made up of 'Khadi'. It is manufactured from two kinds of khadi one for its major part and the second part for the cloth which holds flag to the staff.


Post a Comment