Saturday, April 30, 2011

Indian Railways-Asia’s First and the world’s fourth largest railway network


Indian Railways (Hindi: Bhāratīya Rail), the state-owned railway company of India, which owns and operates most of the country’s rail transport. It is overseen by the Ministry of Railways of the Government of India.
Indian Railways has more than 64,015 kilometres (39,777 mi) of track and 6,909 stations. It has the world’s fourth largest railway network after that of the United States, Russia and China.The railways traverse the length and breadth of the country and carry over 20 million passengers and 2 million tons of freight daily. It is one of the world’s largest commercial or utility employers, with more than 1.6 million employees. As to rolling stock, IR owns over 200,000 (freight) wagons, 50,000 coaches and 8,000 locomotives.
Railways were first introduced to India in 1853. By 1947, the year of India’s independence, there were forty-two rail systems. In 1951 the systems were nationalised as one unit, becoming one of the largest networks in the world. IR operates both long distance and suburban rail systems on a multi-gauge network of broad, metre and narrow gauges. It also owns locomotive and coach production facilities.
Initially, the Indian railways were both designed and built by the British, during their colonial rule of the subcontinent.

Facts About Indian Railways

Founded     16 April 1857 (1857-04-16)
Headquarters     New Delhi, Delhi, India
Area served     India
Key people     Mamata Banerjee
(Ministry of Railways)
E. Ahamed & K.H. Muniyappa (Ministers of State)
Vivek Sahai(Chairman, Railway Board)
Products  :   Rail transport, Cargo transport, Services, more…
Revenue   :  Indian Rupee 88,355 crore (US$19.17 billion) (2009-10)
Net income     Indian Rupee 951 crore (US$206.37 million) (2009-10)
Owner(s)     Republic of India (100%)
Employees     1,600,000 (2009)
Divisions     16 Railway Zones (excluding Konkan Railway)
Website   :

Railway zones

Indian Railways is divided into zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions. The number of zones in Indian Railways increased from six to eight in 1951, nine in 1952, and finally 17 in 2010. Each zonal railway is made up of a certain number of divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of sixty-seven divisions.
1.CentralCR1951, November 5MumbaiMumbaiBhusawalPuneSolapur,Nagpur
2.East CentralECR2002, October 1HajipurDanapurDhanbadMughalsarai,SamastipurSonpur
3.East CoastECoR2003, April 1BhubaneswarKhurda RoadSambalpur,Visakhapatnam
4.EasternER1952, AprilKolkataHowrahSealdahAsansolMalda
5.North CentralNCR2003, April 1AllahabadAllahabadAgraJhansi
6.North EasternNER1952GorakhpurIzzatnagarLucknowVaranasi
7.North WesternNWR2002, October 1JaipurJaipurAjmerBikanerJodhpur
8.Northeast FrontierNFR1958,15th JanGuwahatiAlipurduarKatiharRangia,LumdingTinsukia
9.NorthernNR1952, April 14DelhiDelhiAmbalaFirozpurLucknow,Moradabad
10.South CentralSCR1966, October 2SecunderabadSecunderabadHyderabad,GuntakalGunturNanded,Vijayawada
11.South East CentralSECR2003, April 1BilaspurBilaspurRaipurNagpur
12.South EasternSER1955KolkataAdraChakradharpurKharagpur,Ranchi
13.South WesternSWR2003, April 1HubliHubliBangaloreMysore
14.SouthernSR1951, April 14ChennaiChennaiTiruchirappalliMadurai,PalakkadSalem,Trivandrum(Thiruvananthapuram)
15.West CentralWCR2003, April 1JabalpurJabalpurBhopalKota
16.WesternWR1951, November 5MumbaiMumbai CentralRatlam,AhmedabadRajkotBhavnagar,Vadodara
17.Kolkata Metro2010, December 25KolkataKolkata Metro


Akshay said...

Check all updates for Railway ALP Cut Off like when it comes and how to check it.
RRB ALP Cut Off 2018

Post a Comment