Wednesday, April 13, 2011

N. R. Narayana Murthy


N. R. Narayana Murthy

Mr. N. R. Narayana Murthy is the Chairman of the Board and Chief Mentor of Infosys Technologies Limited. He founded Infosys in 1981 along with six other software professionals and served as the CEO for 21 years before handing over the reins of the company to co-founder Nandan M. Nilekani in March 2002. Under his leadership, Infosys was listed on NASDAQ in 1999. He served as the Executive Chairman of the Board and Chief Mentor from 2002 to 2006.
Mr. Murthy articulated, designed and implemented the Global Delivery Model, which has become the foundation for the success of IT services outsourcing from India. He has also led key corporate governance initiatives in India.
Mr. Murthy is an IT advisor to several Asian countries. He serves as an independent director on the boards of several global companies including Unilever, London and DBS Bank, Singapore. He is also a member of the advisory boards and councils of several educational institutions including Wharton, Cornell, INSEAD, Stanford, Tokyo University, SMU - Singapore, Indian Institute of Information Technology-Bangalore (IIIT-B) and ESSEC, Paris.
Mr. Murthy is the recipient of numerous awards and honors. The Economist ranked him 8th on its list of 15 most admired global leaders in 2005. He was ranked 28th among the world's most respected business leaders by The Financial Times in 2005. In 2004, TIME magazine identified him as one of ten global leaders who are helping shape the future of technology. He was featured in BusinessWeek’s “The Stars of Asia” consecutively from 1998 to 2000. He was voted the “World Entrepreneur of the Year” by Ernst & Young in 2003 and as India's most powerful CEO for three consecutive years (2004 to 2006) by The Economic Times. He received the Ernst Weber Engineering Leadership medal from The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers in 2007 for his pioneering role in the globalization of IT services.
Mr. Murthy holds a B. E. (Electrical) from the University of Mysore (1967) and M. Tech. (Electrical) from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (1969). He has been conferred honorary doctorate degrees by leading universities across the world.


Post a Comment